Stay on top of new partnerships and collaborations in your industry

Market Intelligence
Use Feedly’s Partnerships machine learning model to easily track articles mentioning partnership announcements

Tracking new partnerships is an essential part of Market Intelligence

That’s why we’ve added Partnerships to the list of strategic moves Feedly’s AI engine understands.

Now, with this new machine learning model, your team can:

  • Track new collaborations and innovations in your industry
  • Spot new business development opportunities
  •  Keep a closer eye on your competition

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Curious how it works? Here is a quick tour:

Example: Partnerships related to Biopharma Industry
A machine learning model that flags articles mentioning a partnership announcement between multiple companies
Popular partnership use cases
Quickly identify partnership-related sentences

Speed up your market intelligence research

Partnerships is one of the machine learning models included in Feedly for Market Intelligence. Start a free 30-day trial to see how Feedly can help you speed up your market intelligence.

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The Lufthansa Innovation Hub is using Feedly to define the future of strategic intelligence

Case Study
Find out how Lufthansa Innovation Hub defines and interprets new macro-trends in travel and mobility tech

The short version

The customer: Tino Klaehne, Director of Strategic Innovation and Intelligence, Lufthansa Innovation Hub. Lufthansa Innovation Hub is “reinventing the travel of tomorrow.” Tino and his team are on a mission to lead the way for how strategic intelligence is done in the travel industry.

The challenge: No process for strategic intelligence. Gathering research used to involve sporadically visiting Google and searching by keywords. LIH needed a systematized way to gather, analyze, and prioritize intelligence in one place. 

The solution: Spotting trends faster with an AI engine. LIH integrated Feedly’s AI engine into their tech stack to track macro trends and define trends inside the category of Travel and mobility tech. They use Feedly’s AI concepts to build their own intelligence engine based on their own definitions and categories at the forefront of travel innovation.

The results: An industry-leading process 

  • An industry-leading process that is 3-5X faster than traditional strategic intelligence gathering
  • Regularly-publishes trend reports in the TNMT newsletter with 10,000+ subscribers
  • 5+ former employees have introduced Feedly to their new companies

Start building your strategic intelligence process. Try Feedly for Market Intelligence to track emerging trends, monitor competitors, identify business opportunities, and share insights with your organization.

Spotting trends almost before they happen

Lufthansa Innovation Hub has used Feedly to become thought leaders in their industry. With the help of Feedly’s powerful AI search engine Leo, they have defined a new research category at the intersection of travel and mobility technology, spotting trends and shifts in the industry almost before they happen. Read more about how they did it in this case study:

THE CUSTOMER
Lufthansa Innovation Hub: “reinventing the travel of tomorrow”

With only 40 team members in a company of more than 100,000 people worldwide, the Lufthansa Innovation Hub (LIH) is a small part of the larger Lufthansa Group — but they’ve never let that stop them from having a big impact on reinventing the future of travel. Tino Klaehne, LIH’s Director of Strategic Innovation and Intelligence, explains, “We have a thought leadership strategy. We have our own newsletter and our own platform, TNMT. Our branding is neon green. We make noise.” 

The TNMT newsletter reaches over 10,000 internal and external subscribers, and the entire innovation team is dedicated to setting the standard for cutting-edge, data-driven strategic research.

Our mantra is unconventional data perspectives. Our analysts use all sorts of different data perspectives to track information from thousands of sources. We don’t produce generic desk research–we create high-quality content with a data-driven perspective.”

Tino Klaehne, Director of Strategic Innovation and Intelligence, Lufthansa Innovation Hub

THE CHALLENGE
Building a systematic approach to strategic intelligence

When Tino Klaehne first started working at the Lufthansa Innovation Hub (LIH) in 2017, things looked very different than they do today. The team was still in the early stages of developing their research processes, and their approach was ineffective and time-consuming. 

There was no easy way to store or collect interesting findings in a central location. They needed to develop a more systemic approach to strategic intelligence gathering, so they could scan the horizon and connect the dots more effectively. 

“At the time, our approach to research was really immature. People would Google a few keywords or visit a couple of websites when they had time here and there. Nothing was tracked,” Tino recalls. 

LIH needed an effective way to gather, analyze, and prioritize intelligence from millions of different sources into a single feed. They also needed a system to get alerted when key topics came up, without drowning in the noise of irrelevant data. “We wanted to really professionalize our approach. And we needed to find the right tools for the job.” 

We wanted to really professionalize our approach. And we needed to find the right tools for the job.”

Tino Klaehne, Director of Strategic Innovation and Intelligence, Lufthansa Innovation Hub

THE SOLUTION
Using Feedly’s AI Engine to research and define the future of their market: Travel and Mobility Tech

LIH was able to go one step further than just professionalizing their intelligence-gathering: They have defined their arena at the intersection of travel, mobility, and tech (TNMT).

TNMT brings together traditionally-siloed interests that cover the entire ecosystem of products and services around the travel experience, from accommodation to space travel. 

By adopting Feedly’s AI engine, Leo to discover and research new market opportunities, LIH gathers and synthesizes intelligence that covers this entire category. They can shape, test, and validate hypotheses that will define the future of travel. 

“It’s strategically powerful to be able to define our own category and be the leaders in what we’re doing. And that’s where Feedly comes in. It allows us to create our own definitions and categories, beyond standard industry definitions. We can build everything around this TNMT concept and see what we find there.” 

“Blurred Travel” and other future trends

When Tino and his team identify a new “fuzzy concept” or broader trend that they want to research and define, they set up a new Feedly Board on the topic and add relevant articles from other boards. From there, one of their analysts will define which keywords to track. They will build a Web Alert and gradually refine it, adding concepts and muting terms to filter out the noise. 

A Leo Web Alert that Tino and his team have created to track the “fuzzy concept” of Blurred Travel, combining existing Leo Concepts like “Bleisure travel”, “Remote work”, and the “Travel & Hospitality Industry”.

For example, LIH has coined the concept of “Blurred Travel,” a shift they’re seeing as we emerge from the COVID-19 pandemic, where business and leisure travel are increasingly merging. “It’s really hard to search for a term if you’re the one coining it,” Tino says. “To validate our hypotheses, we try to put different concepts together and look at what is coming through Feedly to see what is happening out there.”

An excerpt about Blurred Travel from a recent issue of LIH’s TNMT newsletter.

Tracking innovation via venture capital investments 

LIH also uses Web Alerts in Feedly to track venture capital investments in travel and mobility tech in order to predict how the industry will evolve. “Venture capital investments are one of our key metrics to determine innovation patterns,” Tino explains. “We want to know where smart people are putting a lot of money, and to understand why it’s happening. It’s a really good proxy indicator for us.” LIH publishes the only regular report with in-depth research on this topic. 

“Venture capital investments are one of our key metrics to determine innovation patterns. We want to know where smart people are putting a lot of money, and to understand why it’s happening. It’s a really good proxy indicator for us”

They also track over 3,000 startups to keep an eye out for investment and partnership opportunities with startups in related industries, like sustainable fuel, air taxis, and the creator economy.

LIH tracks funding events in the travel industry, because they tend to be an indicator of innovation patterns. Here, they’ve set up a Web Alert in Feedly so Leo will surface articles around these concepts. 

Integrating Feedly into their processes and tech stack

Part of what makes Feedly so effective for LIH is the way the team has been able to deeply integrate Feedly into their processes and the rest of their tech stack. 

Tino and the LIH team use Leo Concepts, a collection of machine learning models that continuously read millions of articles to analyze and tag key concepts in real-time. For example, they employ the Partnerships and Funding Leo Concepts to keep a close eye on partnerships that other airlines are forming with startups. This gives them a clearer sense of the direction their industry is heading and what other companies are prioritizing. 

LIH also uses Feedly as the jumping off point for kickstart new projects: Employees combine Leo Concepts in Web Alerts, which track and find relevant content continuously. Through the Web Alerts they’ve set up, the team finds useful content and regularly adds it to Boards. 

When a new project starts, employees search those Boards to see what’s been gathered on the topic and what information is already out there, curated by their team in Feedly. They’ll then create a new Board and connect it to the Slack channel for that project to keep all relevant research in one place. 

Company onboarding at LIH even includes a Feedly tutorial. That’s how deeply we want Feedly to be embedded in our processes says Tino.

THE RESULTS
Faster, more insightful research that looks toward the future

Over the years, LIH’s reputation has grown. Their Travel & Mobility Tech newsletter, TNMT, now has over 10,000 subscribers, including both internal stakeholders and thousands of readers outside the company who rely on LIH’s analysis and research. Without Feedly, Tino estimates that intelligence gathering would take at least 3-5x longer, and wouldn’t be nearly as effective.

A recent issue of the TNMT newsletter, highlighting LIH’s research and analysis around investments into air-taxi startups.

Tino’s team is currently starting to build workflows that will make it easier for more teams to set up Feedly and other research tools to gather their own data independently. “We believe this has the potential to become a strategic intelligence layer for the entire Lufthansa Group, built around Feedly and a few other key tools,” Tino says. 

Feedly at the heart of their toolbox

LIH’s confidence in Feedly continues to grow, and they anticipate it continuing far into the future. They recently signed a three-year contract with Feedly so LIH can continue to build their future-focused processes with Feedly as their AI engine.

Even after analysts leave LIH, they continue to choose Feedly, Tino says. Feedly is such an integral part of the strategic intelligence tech stack that at least five former LIH employees have brought Feedly with them to new jobs. 

“Feedly is the core of our toolbox. We appreciate the close collaboration we have, and we really like the improvements and new features they are releasing. We feel like we’re progressing at the same time, together.” 

Start building your strategic intelligence process

Try Feedly for Market Intelligence to track emerging trends, monitor competitors, identify business opportunities, and share insights with your organization.

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Don’t miss out on your competitors and partners’ product launches

Market Intelligence
Easily track the latest product launches in your industry with Feedly’s AI engine

Keeping up with your competitor’s latest product announcements in real-time is close to impossible.

We’ve added Product Launches to the list of strategic moves Feedly’s AI Engine understands.

This new machine learning model will help you:

  • Analyze how to differentiate yourself from your competitors
  • Spot new partnership opportunities
  • Monitor the latest releases of portfolio companies

Start 30-day free trial

Curious how it works? Here is a quick tour:

Example: Product Launches related to Autonomous Vehicles
A machine learning model that flags mentions of product launches
Popular product launch use cases
Fewer false positives than basic keyword searches
Quickly identify key product launch sentences
Customer Feedback

Speed up your market intelligence research

Product Launches is one of the machine learning models included in Feedly for Market Intelligence. Start a free 30-day trial to see how Feedly can help you speed up your market intelligence.

Start 30-day free trial

Keep track of innovations in digital banking

Market Intelligence
With Feedly’s new Neobanks AI model, you can effortlessly keep up with the growth and strategies of the world’s top 350 neobanks

The new Feedly Neobanks Leo Concept is a handy list of the top 350 digital banks.

This new Machine Learning model will help you:

  • Track new trends and innovations across fintech
  • Spot new investment opportunities
  • Discover potential partners to work with

Start 30-day free trial

Curious how it works? Here is a quick tour:

Example: Neobanks related to Product Launches
A machine learning model that tracks 350 global neobanks
Popular neobank use cases
Tracks over 350 neobank companies across the globe
Quickly identify key strategic move sentences

Speed up your market intelligence research

Neobanks is one of the machine learning models included in Feedly for Market Intelligence. Start a free 30-day trial to see how Feedly can help you speed up your market intelligence.

START 30-DAY FREE TRIAL

How DB Schenker used Feedly to create an “innovation hub” to detect new business opportunities

Case Study
This leading logistics provider scans the horizon to identify trends and opportunities in real time

Impact
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Disseminate 18+ newsletters with over 2,000 internal newsletter subscriptions

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Surface the latest trends, emerging technologies and competitors

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Stay on top of customers’ latest logistics investments through targeted intelligence

A small innovation team with a huge impact across the company

DB Schenker’s innovation team used Feedly to create an innovation, trend, and opportunity hub, which they use to analyze and distribute content out to the wider departments that need to gather intelligence, monitor trends, and spot emerging technologies as they evolve. Read about how they did it in this case study.

THE CUSTOMER
DB Schenker, global leading logistics provider

Jacek Pucher is a Global Innovation Manager for DB Schenker, one of the world’s leading logistics providers of land, air, and ocean freight. Jacek helps his company stay up-to-date on the latest developments in logistics – whether that’s by keeping an eye on the competition, identifying new business opportunities, or tracking innovations in the market. 

THE CHALLENGE
Finding an efficient system to scan the horizon for emerging trends and business opportunities

Back in the beginning of 2020, the Global Innovation team didn’t have any tools to help them sift through the flood of information that’s published online every day. 

Monitoring trends and opportunities manually was impossible and impractical. DB Schenker is a global company, and they need to be up-to-date on competitor strategies, events, trends, and what their customers are up to in different markets around the world. 

But if they wanted to continue to be successful in a competitive market, they needed to find a way to scan the horizon efficiently. “Companies operate in an uncertain world,” Jacek explains. “To be able to tackle these uncertainties, you need to be constantly monitoring what is happening around you.” 

THE SOLUTION
Using Leo, Feedly’s AI engine, to build a hub to monitor innovations, trends, competitors, and opportunities

When Jacek first began pitching Feedly to internal stakeholders, his team was quickly overwhelmed with requests for their own newsletters with real-time information.

“Almost right away, we had many colleagues who were interested and asked us to create newsletters for them,” Jacek recalls. “It started scaling quickly, and very soon it got to the point where our Feedly-dedicated team of two wouldn’t be able to do the monitoring for the whole company.” 

So instead, Jacek created an internal scaling model that uses Leo to feed DB Schenker’s innovation, trend, competitor, and opportunity hub and triage intelligence out to the wider company. 

Here’s how he did it:

1. Set up Leo to surface the right information

Feedly’s AI engine, Leo, uses a collection of machine learning models to continuously read millions of articles to analyze and tag key concepts in real time. It’s like having an extremely eager research assistant – with a million times the computing power. 

Jacek set up Leo Web Alerts, AI-powered searches across the web, to track logistics innovations for new developments. He also used Leo’s pre-trained Tech & Scientific Innovation Concept to get immediate updates on emerging trends and new technologies.  

Jacek also set up Leo Web Alerts for the sales teams for DB Schenker’s different business units to help them identify business opportunities. The Leo Web Alerts focused on topics like the supply chain industry, supply chain last mile deliveries, land transport, ocean freight, and warehousing. “It was so simple,” he says. 

Jacek created this “Logistics Innovation” Leo Web Alert to track innovation in the areas his company cares about the most.

2. Curated newsletters disseminate valuable market intelligence information across the company

Once Jacek had Leo set up to surface relevant information, he turned on Team Newsletters. The innovation team curates articles by saving them to a Board in Feedly, and then the newsletters are regularly sent to a predefined list of emails from Boards. 

When Jacek and the innovation team save articles to specific Feedly Boards, weekly newsletters are sent to subscribers throughout the company. Boards can also kick off a series of other workflows, like pushing content to an innovation portal.

Then, he pitched the tool’s market intelligence applications to teams across the company to help other teams set up their own newsletters, based on their intelligence needs. 

The innovation team’s first internal customer had a very specific goal in mind: they wanted to use Feedly to stay on top of their customers’ latest investments. “If our customers build a warehouse or a production facility, they are going to need logistics services soon,” Jacek explains. “If we know about that earlier, our sales team can approach our customers to offer our services.”

From there, interest grew quickly, and multiple teams approached Jacek to set up their own newsletters. Pretty soon, Jacek had used Leo to set up 18 different newsletters for teams across the company. 

3. The innovation team creates a scalable framework for surfacing trends   

Now, when a team approaches Jacek to help them gather market intelligence, the process is simple: 

  1. Jacek asks the department what keywords and concepts they would like to track. 
  2. Then, he creates the Leo Web Alerts for them and asks for feedback on each Web Alert.
  3. Together, they refine their Leo Web Alerts to improve the signal-to-noise ratio, so they only receive what’s most relevant to them. 
  4. Finally, he trains a team “Feedly editor,” who becomes the owner of the department’s market intelligence – and Jacek is free to go help the next team who wants to gather market intelligence. 

Jacek says, “I assist them in the first few weeks, and I help them publish the first newsletter. After that I hand over the reins and that person becomes responsible for intelligence gathering for their team. They can do their own thing.”

“If our customers build a warehouse or a production facility, they are going to need logistics services soon. If we know about that earlier, our sales team can approach our customers to offer our services.”

THE RESULTS
A small innovation team with a huge impact across the company

DB Schenker now has an innovation, trend, and opportunity hub, which they use to analyze and distribute content to the wider departments that need to gather intelligence, monitor trends, and spot emerging technologies as they evolve. 

Over 2,000 active newsletter subscriptions

So far, the 18 newsletters have over 2,000 subscriptions, with many employees signing up to more than one. Every new employee gets the option to sign up for Feedly newsletters during their onboarding as well. “I get lots of positive feedback,” Jacek says. “People really value these newsletters and the insights they provide.” 

The “innovation hub” that the team built with Feedly has been so successful that Jacek gathered internal feedback and wrote an internal success story about the initiative.

Jacek gathered feedback from employees across the company and wrote this internal article (shared here with permission from DB Schenker) to illustrate the success of their innovation hub with Feedly.

A collaborative network to break down information silos 

Setting up Feedly as a hub for market intelligence has created an unexpected benefit for the Global Innovation Team, as well: Jacek now has a network of people across the company who can collaborate and lean on each other as resources. He credits the success of this “innovation hub” to the broader team of “Feedly editors” who scan, analyze, and distribute newsletters through Feedly every week for the sales teams within each business unit. 

Jacek reflects on what the Global Innovation team has been able to achieve since starting to use Feedly: “Strategic foresight and scenario building are the innovation tools of the future. And you cannot build scenarios if you don’t know what is happening and what has happened. That’s the big opportunity that Feedly creates for us.”

“Strategic foresight and scenario building are the innovation tools of the future. And you cannot build scenarios if you don’t know what is happening and what has happened. That’s the big opportunity that Feedly creates for us.”

Start building your own innovation hub

Try Feedly for Market Intelligence to track emerging trends, monitor competitors, identify business opportunities, and share insights with your organization.

TRY FEEDLY FOR MARKET INTELLIGENCE

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What Is A Conversion, and Why Are They Important?

What Is A Conversion, and Why Are They Important?

You may have read headlines or seen references to lead conversions and if you’re not sure what this means or even where to start, this article is for you.

What is a Conversion

A conversion is when a potential customer has engaged with your brand or business in some form, and then proceeded to take an action. That action may be signing up for a mailing list, purchasing an item, followed you on a social platform, or even subscribed. The end result is whatever outcome you’d like for your potential customers to do. So take a minute and consider any marketing efforts you’re currently doing, like maybe you have a special deal on your website? A recent social media post? An email newsletter with links to videos or a survey? The options are endless, but still there is a measurable metric that will ultimately be calculated for the amount of potential customers/leads that you’ll be looking to attract.

What is a Lead

Simply put, a lead is a person who has interest in your product or service that can make a decision about buying. There’s a difference between people looking to kick tires, but don’t have authority to actually make a purchase. The conversation or content to those information seekers should differentiate them from their counterparts or management who are able to make purchasing decisions. A lot of times we create content that’s like spaghetti on the wall with the hopes that something speaks to the right person amongst all the mess on the wall. Truth be told, no one likes a mess, let alone want to eat off a wall.

How to Calculate Your Conversion Rate

Every business is different with regards to their prices for their products and/or services. So while we’re going to talk about conversion rates, I would suggest that you sit with your team and decide what is an acceptable goal that is something your business isn’t complacent with but is within attainable number.

Conversion Rate Graphic

Ok so essentially to the formula for calculating your conversion ratio is: Conversion Ratio = Number of Confirmed Sales/Action, Divided by the Total Number of Leads Multiplied by 100. A common conversion rate is anywhere from 10-20%. When you step back and think about it, it’s a numbers game. The more leads you have the more potential sales you should have which ultimately boosts your bottom line.

Conversion Rate Graphic

If in a week you are able to attract 200 leads and 20 of them convert, that gives you a 10% Conversion Rate. The other piece to this with your business is to see how consistent you are with your metrics. Are you consistently getting 200 leads? What are the marketing methods your using to attract those leads? If you were to double those efforts or marketing budget, would that also double the amount of leads? Could there be other marketing efforts through other channels and platforms that you can also track and measure to perform the same?

One last thing to point out here is that by doing this exercise, you can also calculate your cost per customer. This is called Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC). Since you know how many customers or leads you’re getting from the above equation, you’ll need to know how much it costs for your marketing efforts. This includes but isn’t limited to cost for flyers, business cards, ad-spend on social media platforms, Google Ad campaigns, article boosting and promoting, and more. Count all of your marketing costs up and divide that by the number of confirmed customers/sales. For example, if my monthly marketing costs is $1,000, and our business is averaging 100 customers a month, well my CAC is $10 or every new customer costs me $10. Now if each new customer purchases a product or service at least say $200, then my average sales for those same 100 customers will gross us $20,000. And again, if it only costs me $10 for each new customer, wouldn’t you say that’s a worthwhile budget and spending plan?

If you or your business needs help with formulating your conversion rate or you’d like ways to boost your metrics, feel free to contact us because we’d love to help.